“I’m absolutely rapt” – Coach John Hynes



MORNINGTON Peninsula Nepean Football League coach John Hynes said he was ‘absolutely wrapped’ with the 2017 Interleague campaign after it kicked-off last Friday.

The MPNFL Sharks had 38 on the track on Friday night at Frankston Park while there were players who couldn’t train that attended to support the squad.

Hynes said the “level, intensity and competitive aspects were as high as I have seen them”, despite it being the first hit-out of the season.

The MPNFL will take-on Geelong FL at the MCG to claim the number one title in Victorian Football in May this year.

The last time the leagues met was three years ago at Kardinia Park and the MPNFL was thrashed.

Hynes said our league was under prepared and lacked commitment the last time the leagues met and he was determined to ensure history didn’t repeat itself, especially on Australia’s biggest sporting stage.

“We’re happy to go with the Sydney Swans mantra of a no commitment, no interest policy,” Hynes said.

“We only want players who are committed to our cause and the early signs couldn’t be more pleasing.”

With an influx of former AFL and VFL talent coming into the league this season, there is expectation that the squad will be stronger.

“Luke Tapscott (Sorrento) is as keen as mustard and Trent Dennis-Lane (Bonbeach) is keen too while the likes of Brayden Irving (Seaford), Jordan Pollard (Tyabb) and Ben Hughes (Red Hill) are all really looking forward to it.

“Aaron Edwards (Pines) is again leading the charge with his high level of commitment and I’m hopeful after speaking with Andreijs Everitt (Somerville) that he will get right behind his league and support the boys. Unfortunately, Chris Dawes will be away and unavailable,” Hynes said.

The initial squad, which can be added to at any time, looks like this:

Beau Bailey (Bonbeach), Byron Barry (YCW), Anthony Barry (YCW) – VFL, Tim Bongetti (Pines), Mitch Bosward (Bombers), Brett Bowden (Edi-Asp), Anthony Bruhn (YCW) -VFL, Corey Buchan (Bombers), Jackson Calder (Mornington), Matt Clark (Edi-Asp), Matt Clifford (Hastings), Nick Corp (Sorrento), Beau Cosson (Dromana), Brenton Credlin (YCW) – VFL, Trent Dennis-Lane (Bonbeach), Keegan Downie (Rosebud), Ash Eames (YCW), Aaron Edwards (Pines), Andreijs Everitt (Somerville), Ricky Ferraro (Hastings), Shaun Foster (Hastings), Sam Fox (Bombers), Todd Gardiner (Chelsea), Sam Gill (Mt Eliza), Dan Gormley (Mt Eliza), James Hallihan (Sorrento), Blake Harkness (Langwarrin), Alex Harnett (Bombers) – VFL, Rhys Healy (Pearcedale), Beau Hendry (Pines), Guy Hendry (Pines), Luke Hewitt (Hastings), Rowan Hogenbirk (Somerville), Ben Hughes (Red Hill), Kyle Hutchison (YCW), Brayden Irving (Seaford), Rikki Johnston (Dromana), Dylan Jones (Bonbeach), Ryan Kitchen (Bombers), Ben Landry (Mt Eliza), Jake Lovett (YCW) – VFL, Andrew Lovett (Sorrento), Kevin Lylak (YCW), Steve Mannix (Edi-Asp), Ryan Marks-Logan (Bombers), Kyle Matthews (Seaford), Shane McDonald (Bonbeach), Tim McGennis (Somerville), Mick Meehan (Edi-Asp), Scott McLeod (YCW), Warrick Miller (Mornington), Joel Miller (Mornington), Paul Minchington (YCW), Jake Mitchell (Red Hill), Mark Mullins (Edi-Asp), Allan Murray (Devon Meadows), Jay Neratzaglou (Mt Eliza), Brett O’Hanlon (Mt Eliza), Christian Ongarello (YCW), Jordan Pollard (Tyabb), Luke Potts (Pines), Ethan Rahilly (Tyabb), Damien Rayson (Seaford), Paul Rogasch (Hastings), Ryan Santon (YCW), Jonah Siverson (Red Hill), Dale Sutton (Bombers), Luke Tapscott (Sorrento), Shane Tennant (Mt Eliza), Robbie Turnball (Mt Eliza), Justin Van Unen (Mt Eliza), Lachy Wallace (YCW) – VFL.

First published in the Mornington News – 24 January 2017


Comments are closed.