Get behind the Sharks this weekend



THE MPNFL Sharks will tackle the Northern Football League at Rye’s RJ Rowley Reserve this Saturday, starting at 1.45pm.

Coach John Hynes and his brainstrust, including Edithvale premiership captain Pat Poore, two-time premiership coach Gavin Artico and former Melbourne player Paul Hopgood, have narrowed the final squad to 31 after round six matches on Saturday.

The latest player to withdraw from the squad was inform Somerville defender Scott Simpson for ‘personal reasons’.

The MPNFL Sharks will train at Frankston VFL Park this Monday and Wednesday. The final team of 22 will be named on Wednesday night.

The leadership squad consists of Rikki Johnston (Dromana), Warwick Miller (Morninton), Anthony and Byron Barry (YCW), Mitch Hallahan (Sorrento) and Luke Potts (Pines).

The other 25 squad members are:

Kevin Lylak (YCW), Paul Rogasch (Hastings), Timmy McGennis ( Somerville), Beau Cosson (Dromana), Guy Hendry (Pines), Kyle Hutchison (YCW), Aaron Edwards (Pines), Paul Minchington (YCW), Tim Bongetti (Pines), Justin Van Unen (Mt Eliza), Dylan Jones (Bonbeach), Luke Tapscott (Sorrento), Paul Scanlon (Pines), Christian Ongarello (Dromana), Jackson Calder (Mornington), Dale Sutton (Frankston), Luke Hewitt (Hastings), Beau Hendry (Pines), Brenton Credlin (YCW), Anthony Bruhn (YCW), Dan Gormley (Mt Eliza), Ryan Santon (YCW), Shane McDonald (Bonbeach), James Cameron (Mornington) and Ryan Kitchen (Frankston).

Hynes said he was hoping for a big crowd to get down and support the Sharks.

“Northern Football League knocked over Eastern Football League recently and are expected to have a very strong side,” Hynes said.

“I think we have assembled a very strong and talented list of committed players who want to play with one another and represent our league.

“It’s a wonderful squad, as is the Young Guns Squad (they play Yarra Ranges on Saturday in Healesville) and we believe we’ll put on a great show.

“I really do hope that a big crowd gets down to Rye and gets right behind their footy league,” Hynes said.

The game will also be broadcast on RPP FM (98.7 or 98.3FM).

First published in the Mornington News – 17 May 2016


Comments are closed.