Kings rule the challenge


Home and hosed: Portsea Kings members Andrew Nash, Peter Bolton, Drew McLennan and Nick Bowden with the manager of Headspace Australia Leisal Jackson. Picture: James Devereux

THE Portsea Kings won the annual Blairgowrie Yacht Squadron 2020 team challenge last week. Members Andrew Nash, Peter Bolton, Drew McLennan and Nick Bowden came home in one hour, four minutes and 18 seconds.

Challenge committee member Andrea Devereux said the event, in its fifth year, raises funds and awareness for vocation assistance and job opportunities for youth on the southern peninsula. She said all proceeds from the event will go to the new Headspace satellite at Rosebud.

“Given the recent weather, it was a relief to have a glorious day for the event which saw 19 teams competing and then enjoying a delightful lunch afterwards on the deck at BYS,” Ms Devereux said.

“An enthusiastic band of volunteers gave up their time to ensure the event ran smoothly and that everyone had fun.”

Second place went to the Commodore’s team of Eddie Lim, Charlie Schall, Richard Robertson and James Devereux (1.07.33). Third were Portsea Queens – Simon Traynor, Nick Callendar, Anthony Deague and Bev Thomas (1.14.12).

COMPETITORS in the Blairgowrie Yacht Squadron 2020 team challenge take to the wave on the day. Picture: Shaun McKenna

Members of each four-person team completed an individual leg and then a fifth leg as part of a team. These included a 1.2km swim, 3km ski paddle, 2km stand-up paddleboard, 2.4km beach run and team swim over 500 metres.

Other winners were fastest swim: Andrew Nash in 13 minutes 15 seconds; fastest paddle: Anthony Deague 14.23; fastest SUP: Richard Robertson 12.53; fastest run: James Devereux 8.26, and fastest team swim: Portsea Kings.

Major sponsors were Searoad Ferries and Hocking Stuart Belle Property Blairgowrie. Other businesses donated prizes and items for the silent auction and allowed advertising boards to be placed in prominent locations.

First published in the Southern Peninsula News – 3 March 2020


Comments are closed.